top of page
Blog: Blog2

MINDSET Blog/Bookstagram/BookTok Tour


I am thrilled to be hosting a spot on the MINDSET by Zack Kaplan & John J. Pearson Blog Tour hosted by Rockstar Book Tours. Check out my post and make sure to enter the giveaway!



About The Book:

Title: MINDSET

Authors: Zack Kaplan & John J. Pearson (Illustrator)

Pub. Date: June 6, 2023

Publisher: Vault Comics

Formats: Hardcover, Paperback, eBook

Pages: 104


Black Mirror meets The Social Network in the mind-bending, sci-fi technothriller Mindset, where mind control is only an app away. For fans of Dave Eggers’ The Circle and The Every. The Cult of Control When an introverted tech geek accidentally discovers mind control, he and his friends do something unexpected – they put the science into a meditation app to help users break their technology addiction. But as their Mindset app achieves a dangerous cult following, lies, conspiracies, and murder come to light. Are they helping people or controlling them? Free your mind. Who’s in control? Collects the entire, smash and super-hot, best-selling 6-issue series! From in-demand writer Zack Kaplan (ECLIPSE, PORT OF EARTH, THE LOST CITY EXPLORERS, JOIN THE FUTURE, BREAK OUT, METAL SOCIETY, FOREVER FORWARD) and star artist John J. Pearson (2021 Eisner Award winner along with Anand RK for BLUE IN GREEN (Image Comics))

For fans of Black Mirror, Halt and Catch Fire, graphic novel The Department of Truth, and for fans of technothriller writers Dave Eggers (The Circle, The Every), Blake Crouch (Recursion), and Douglas E. Richards (The Enigma Cube), for readers interested in the CIA’s two decade-long MK Ultra mind control experiments, and readers interested in the impact of tech on society. “This twisty and cynical thriller cleverly situates itself at the intersection of heated debates about social media, tech giants, and social inequality.” -- Publishers Weekly "What an AMAZING, disturbing first issue this was! Every godd*** book @thevaultcomics puts out is a must-read." - Patton Oswalt (actor, comedian, writer) “Mind-blowing art. A chilling concept. The perfect technothriller...” - Cavan Scott (New York Times bestselling author: Star Wars: The High Republic) Mindset …is an uncompromising and engaging vision. A terrifying look in the dark mirror we all need. 10/10.” -- Comics Bookcase

“Fans of The Social Network and tales of corporate espionage will snap this up.” -- Publishers Weekly “For my money, Mindset is one of the best books being published. 10/10” – Big Comic Page “… a stunning combination of The Graduate and Leigh Whannell’s Upgrade, blending the ethical implications of revolutionary technology with a murder mystery rooted in that same tech. – Comic Watch “Mindset … is a form of brainwashing itself, drawing one in and leaving one with a desire for more. 10/10” – Comic Watch Mindset isn't your standard psychological thriller. In fact, it turns the entire genre on its head, introducing a wildly fresh take on mind control and the dangers of social media and influencer marketing. ” – ComicBook.com “Mindset … is a terrific science fiction tale, creepier because it hits so close to home.” – Major Spoilers “Mindset would’ve been on the list of best series of the year on the strength of its art and premise alone. The theme of cell phone and internet influence over our free will is incredibly important to our modern-day life. But, coupled with the thrilling story of big tech mystery and the multilayered exploration of existential themes, I would argue that Mindset is the very best comic series of the year.” – AIPT “Mindset is … an imaginative, unrestrained triumph.” – CBR “One of the most compelling and relevant books on the stands.” – Comics Beat






About Zack Kaplan:

Zack Kaplan is a break-out science fiction comic writer and creator of such comics and graphic novels as ECLIPSE, PORT OF EARTH, THE LOST CITY EXPLORERS, JOIN THE FUTURE, BREAK OUT, METAL SOCIETY, FOREVER FORWARD and MINDSET. He has worked with publishers such as Image/Top Cow, Dark Horse, Aftershock, Vault, Humanoids, Scout Comics and DC Comics. His first three series were all optioned for TV adaptation, with PORT OF EARTH currently being developed by Robert Kirkman’s Skybound Entertainment and Amazon TV Studios. Zack has taught screenwriting and storytelling at the International Academy of Film and TV, located in the Philippines. He currently lives in Los Angeles.



About John J. Pearson:

John J. Pearson is an Eisner Award-winning artist and illustrator based in Leeds, UK.


John has built a reputation as an inimitable talent through his varied portfolio producing work for clients as diverse as Vault Comics, DC Comics, Image Comics, Z2 Comics, Heavy Metal Magazine, Netflix, WWE, Rue Morgue Magazine, The Ray Harryhausen Foundation, Burning Witches Records, and Arrow Video amongst many others. He is also an award-winning comic book artist, receiving the 2021 Eisner Award for Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (Interior Art) alongside collaborator Anand RK, for the work on Blue in Green (Image).


John fuses traditional drawing techniques, digital painting, and collage to produce highly-detailed and darkly compelling images across a range of printed media. Combining elements of photorealism, popular culture, abstraction, and psychedelia to create a unique style and versatility in approach that appeals to a wide spectrum of audiences.


John has exhibited in the UK and US, organized extensive art experiences across the country, and produced live murals at high profile events both independently and as part of Leeds-based art collectives.


MINDSET: The Complete Series - Q&A for Tour – Zack Kaplan (writer/co-creator) & John J. Pearson (artist/co-creator)


ZACK KAPLAN

What are some of your favorite:

a. Movies (Classic or Current)

Everything from Star Wars and Blade Runner to Dune, Arrival and…more Blade Runner.

Also love Fight Club, Memento and American Beauty. Love True Romance and Drive.

b. Books

Anything Chuck Palaniuk.

c. Series (TV/Streaming)

Andor, Stranger Things, Severance, Succession and South Park.

d. Video Games

God of War, Ghost of Tsushima, Red Dead Redemption

e. And why?

I like stories with scale, scope and with stakes. I like stories about characters trying to

fing their way in a world turned upsidedown or gone mad. Stories that make me think.


Does MINDSET have a playlist? If so, can you share each of yours?

Actually, John and I made a “Mindset Playlist” on Spotify. It’s a mix of synthy

soundtracks from things like Social Network and Oblivion, and some modern indie rock

like M83 or Local Natives, and then some punk rock like Melvins, Pixies and more. Check

it out.


Any convention/show appearances for you in 2023?

I’ll be at ALA Chicago this June 24-25, San Diego Comic Con in July and New York

Comic Con in October. Perhaps a couple more as well to be determined.




JOHN J. PEARSON


What are some of your favorite:

a. Movies (Classic or Current)

Suspira, Possession, Thought a Glass Darkly, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, Branded to Kill, Female Prisoner, Black Sunday, Altered States, The Devils, Midsommer, The 400 Blows, The Maltese Falcon, Sunset Boulevard.


b. Books

Asimov’s Foundation series, Willam Gibson’s Neuromancer, William Burroughs’ Naked Lunch, Jeff Vandermeer’s Annihilation series, Albert Camus’ The Outsider


c. Series (TV/Streaming)

Twin Peaks, The Sopranos, The Wire, Beef, Blackadder, Black Books, Brass Eye


d. Video Games

Ghost of Tsushima, Nier Automata, Doom, Resident Evil 7


e. And why?

I enjoy a lot of intensity in storytelling, but also absurdity, surrealism, horror…..anything that evokes a strong reaction. I’ve never been too interested in passive engagement with entertainment, I enjoy things that I will dwell on, revisit, discuss, and that stay with me in some capacity.


Does MINDSET have a playlist? If so, can you share each of yours?

Yep, we came up with one jointly in promotion for Mindset early on.


Any convention/show appearances for you in 2023?

I’m at MCM London this week (May 26th - 28th), Vice Press: Open House June 24th, New York Comic Con in October and Thought Bubble in November.






Giveaway Details:

2 winners will receive finished copies of MINDSET, US Only.

Ends June 20th, midnight EST.




Rafflecopter Link:



Tour Schedule:

Week One:

5/22/2023

Excerpt/IG Post

5/23/2023

Excerpt

5/24/2023

Excerpt/IG Post

5/25/2023

Excerpt/IG Post

5/26/2023

Excerpt/IG Post

5/27/2023

Excerpt/IG Post


Week Two:

5/29/2023

Excerpt/IG Post

5/30/2023

Excerpt/IG Post

5/31/2023

IG Review

6/1/2023

Review/IG Post

6/2/2023

Review/IG Post

6/3/2023

Review


Week Three:

6/4/2023

IG Review

6/5/2023

Review/IG Post

6/6/2023

Review

6/7/2023

IG Review

6/8/2023

Review/IG Post

6/9/2023

IG Review/LFL Drop Pic


Week Four:

6/12/2023

Review/IG Post

6/13/2023

Review/IG Post

6/14/2023

Review/IG Post

6/15/2023

Review/IG Post

6/16/2023

Review/IG Post




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Becoming One of Them

If you like: Reverse harem romance with a gothic academy backdrop filled with paranormal and fantasy elements Force of Nature female lead The Alphahole with a sweet side The Cinnamonroll with a danger

bottom of page